About the Awards
Richard H. Driehaus
Richard H. Driehaus’ highly noted business success is enhanced by his countless philanthropic efforts. Mr. Driehaus strongly believes in giving individuals the chance to create their own success, a reflection of his gratitude towards those who gave him opportunities to prove himself throughout his career. He has a personal interest in and commitment to design excellence and historic preservation as indicated by his involvement in a wide variety of philanthropic and community-service oriented projects. Mr. Driehaus’ support of the built environment is based on his belief that “good design does not cost, it pays.”

Driehaus Capital Management LLC
As founder of Driehaus Capital Management LLC, Mr. Driehaus is Chairman and architect of the firm’s highly successful investment philosophy. The firm is guided by his commitment to excellence, and his achievements have earned him the honor of being named to Barron’s “All-Century” Team of All-Stars as one of the most influential money managers in the last 100 years. Additionally, he is President and a Member of the Board of Trustees of Driehaus Mutual Funds.
Recognizing early in his career that giving back to society makes for a fuller life, Mr. Driehaus has focused attention and energy on a wide variety of philanthropy and community service. He does this individually and through the efforts of The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation and The Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Lead Trust. The Driehaus Foundation seeks to:
  • improve The Built Environment
  • enhance Arts and Culture
  • strengthen Democracy
  • advance Economic Opportunity
The Driehaus Foundation’s diverse charitable interests include supporting:
  • organizations and projects that advocate for effective policies, undertake urban planning aimed at the preservation of Chicago’s historic fabric, protect its parks and open spaces, and otherwise preserve the unique character of its neighborhoods.
  • arts service and other organizations that support the arts whose core mission is to provide guidance, technical assistance, and stewardship to Chicago’s artists and arts and culture nonprofits.
  • investigative journalism that fosters greater transparency, accountability and effectiveness in government institutions at the local level.
  • system-wide change to improve economic opportunity in Chicago by funding nonprofits active in public policy and advocacy.

Established in 2003, The Richard H. Driehaus Prize for Classical Architecture in conjunction with the University of Notre Dame encourages the principles of traditional, classical and sustainable architecture and urbanism. The $200,000 prize is awarded to an architect whose work embodies the highest ideals of traditional and classical architecture in contemporary society, and creates a positive cultural, environmental, and artistic impact. Through this award, The Richard H. Driehaus Prize has honored some of the best architects around the world.

“Beauty, harmony, and context are hallmarks of classical architecture, thus fostering communities, enhancing the quality of our shared environment, and developing sustainable solutions through traditional materials.”

—Richard H. Driehaus
immerses visitors in one of the grandest residential buildings of 19th-century Chicago, the Gilded Age home of banker Samuel Mayo Nickerson. Mr. Driehaus founded the Museum in 2003 with a vision to influence today’s built environment by preserving and promoting architecture and design of the past. To realize his vision, he commissioned a five-year restoration effort to preserve the structure and its magnificent interiors. Today the galleries feature surviving furnishings paired with elegant, historically-appropriate pieces from the Driehaus Collection of Fine and Decorative Arts, including important works by such celebrated designers as George A. Schastey and Louis Comfort Tiffany.

The Museum is a premier example of historic preservation, offering visitors an opportunity to experience through its architecture, interiors, collection, and exhibitions how the prevailing design philosophies of the period were interpreted by artists, architects, and designers at the waning of the 19th-century and the dawn of the 20th-century.

Mr. Driehaus’ generosity has touched and enhanced many lives. He is a champion of the arts and a true civic light.

Awards and Honors Highlights
  • 2016 Award for Excellence in Architectural Stewardship, Society of Architectural Historians
  • Distinguished Service to the Dance Field Award, Audience Architects, 2016
  • Honorary Member, Royal Academy of Fine Arts of San Fernando, Madrid, 2015
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, American Institute of Architects, Chicago, 2015
  • INTBAU Excellence Award, International Network for Traditional Building, Architecture and Urbanism, 2015
  • Angel Guild Award, Historic Chicago Bungalow Association, 2013
  • 2013 Ambassador Award, Chicago Dramatists
  • Horatio Alger Award 2013, Horatio Alger Association
  • 2013 Ambassador Award, Chicago Dramatists
  • The Worshipful Company of Glaziers & Painters of Glass, 2013,, City of London
  • Emerald Ball Honoree, Old St. Patrick’s Church
  • 25 @ 25, Arts & Business Council of Illinois
  • Norman H. Stone Award, Emergency Fund
  • 2010 Corporate Honoree, Youth Advocacy Awards, UCAN
  • Distinguished Service Honoree, Lawyers for the Creative Arts
  • Honorary Doctorate of Public Service, Saint Xavier University
  • Distinguished Philanthropist Award, Association of Fundraising Professionals
  • 2009 Trustee Award, Chicago Architecture Foundation
  • Legendary Landmark Award, Landmarks Illinois
  • Restore America Hero Award, National Trust for Historic Preservation
  • Benjamin H. Marshall Prize, Benjamin H. Marshall Society
  • Soane Foundation Honor, The Sir John Soane’s Museum Foundation
  • Honorary Doctorate, DePaul University
  • AIA Presidential Citation, The American Institute of Architects
  • Shield of St. Xavier Award, Saint Xavier University
  • Jens Jensen Award, Chicago Park District
  • Illinois Arts Legend Award, Illinois Arts Alliance Foundation
  • Leadership Award, Lakefront Supportive Housing
  • Theodore Herzl Award, Jerusalem Fund
  • Man of Vision Award, Give the Gift of Sight Foundation
  • Landmark Preservation Award, Landmarks Illinois
  • Corporate Award for Excellence in the Arts, DePaul Theatre School
  • Mary Potter Humanitarian Award, Little Company of Mary Hospital
  • Unity Award, Frank Lloyd Wright Unity Temple Restoration Foundation